Thursday, June 20, 2019

Administrative Structure of the Government - Chapter 7 - Class 7th - Civics

Class 7th - Social and Political Life (Civics) - Book Cover
Class 7th - Social and Political Life (Civics) - Administrative Structure

Chapter 7:    Administrative Structure of the Government
Q1. Answer the following questions in brief:
(i). Why India is divided in different States and Districts?
Ans. India is divided into States and Districts for Administration convenience and efficiency because this division makes the Central Government easy to conduct the administration in small area.
(ii). Write briefly the functions of a District Collector.
Ans. The District collector is the head of the Administration. District Collector can function as a Collector, District Magistrate, District Administrative Officer, and District Department Officer. As a collector he/she is responsible for the collection and recovery of land revenue and dues of the government as a District Magistrate. He/she maintains law and order assisted by S.P Police and as a development officer he/she coordinates all the activities of different departments of the District and also prepares district plans.
(iii). What are the objectives of the economic planning?
Ans. The major objectives of the Economic Planning are rapid economic growth, full and stable employment and better utilization of natural resources.
(iv). Which are the three-tiers of the local governing bodies under the Panchayati Raj?
Ans. Three-tiers of the local governing bodies under the Panchayat Raj are:
(i). The Gram and Village Panchayat at the village level.
(ii). The Panchayat Samiti at block level which is known as Block Samiti.
(iii). Zila Parishad or Zila Panchayat at the District Level.
(v). Name the various programmes under taken by the government to alleviate poverty and increase in literacy.
Ans. To alleviate poverty and increase the literacy, government has under taken many programmes under centrally funded schemes. Social welfare schemes are aimed at improving the condition of poor. Another scheme is Mid-Day Meal Scheme up to the Middle School students to take care of the growth and development of poor children. Next is Rural Group Life Insurance Scheme, where the government would provide half the premium and construction of dwelling units. Other schemes are Kasturba Gandhi Balika Vidyalaya (KBGV), Education Guarantee Scheme (EGS), and National Programme for Education of Girls at Elementary Level (NPEGEL), Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA), and Rashtriya Madhyamika Shiksha Abhiyan (RMSA).
Q2. Fill in the blanks:
(i). The principle unit of administration I a state is the district and its head is known as District Collector.
(ii). The head of the police department in the district is called Superintendent of Police.
(iii). The urban authorities consist of Municipal Corporation Municipal Committee and Nagar Panchayat.
(iv). The local government at three levels in the rural areas form the Panchayat Raj.
(v). Development can come about only through cooperation and participation of the people.

No comments: